OpenAI posts preprint titled "Integer multiplication below n log n"

OpenAI posts preprint titled "Integer multiplication below n log n"

OpenAI has published a document titled "Integer multiplication below n log n" in the preprints directory of its openai/math repository on GitHub. The citation record lists the author simply as "OpenAI", dates the work September 23, 2026, and labels it an "OpenAI Math Release preprint". The year given in the record is 2026.

The repository folder for the preprint contains three items: a build subdirectory, a README.md file and a paper.pdf file. The citation links to the PDF.

That is all the visible material says. What is on the page is the citation record and the directory listing, not the paper's text or the README. The title points to multiplication of integers at a cost below n log n, but the visible text does not state what bound is achieved, how it is reached, or how it compares with known results. It names no individual human authors or institutions beyond OpenAI, and it does not say whether AI generated, found or verified the result. It does not say whether the preprint has been peer-reviewed or independently checked.

So this is a report that the preprint exists, with its title, author label, date and location, rather than a summary of a result.

Key facts

  • OpenAI listed a preprint titled "Integer multiplication below n log n" in its openai/math GitHub repository.
  • The citation record is dated September 23, 2026 and labels the work an "OpenAI Math Release preprint" with the author given as "OpenAI".
  • The preprint folder holds a build subdirectory, a README.md and a paper.pdf.
  • The visible text contains no abstract and no description of the result, and it does not state what complexity bound is achieved.

Why it matters

The title points to a claim about integer multiplication below n log n, a question in the theory of algorithms. The visible material does not say what bound the paper reaches or whether it improves a known one, so the significance cannot be judged from what is on the page. What can be said is that OpenAI chose to release the work as a standalone preprint under an "OpenAI Math Release" label in a dedicated math repository.

Who it affects

Nothing in the visible text says who is affected. The subject, integer multiplication, is the kind of question that algorithm theorists follow, but the page itself does not describe any audience or application.

How to use it

There is nothing to apply yet. The paper is in the repository as paper.pdf, next to a README.md and a build subdirectory, in the preprints folder of openai/math on the main branch. Readers who want the actual claim and the proof need to open the PDF. The page does not state any price or licence.

How solid is it

Only the citation record and a directory listing are visible, so the result itself is unverified here. The visible text contains no abstract and no description of the result. It does not say whether the preprint is peer-reviewed or has been independently checked. The README.md and paper.pdf contents were not visible, so no claims about proofs, assumptions or practicality can be taken from the source.

Risks and caveats

Any reading of the result beyond its title would be guesswork. It is not stated whether the algorithm is new, what complexity bound it achieves, or whether AI generated, found or verified it. The author is listed only as "OpenAI", with no named individuals or institutions. Treat the claim as unreviewed until the paper has been read and checked by others.